As of June 2017, all licenses for new customers are automatically renewed unless you cancel your subscription from the account area.
If your subscription is inactive, your license will not be automatically renewed once it expires.
Once your license expired, the plugin will keep on working as it is at that time. You will no longer receive new plugin updates or be eligible for priority support over email.
You can re-activate your license subscription at any point in time after your license expires.